Financial Responsibility and
Compulsory Insurance Laws

Summary: The table that follows displays the minimum financial responsibility or compulsory liability insurance limits for all states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

Topics covered:
Split or single limits
Required limits, by state

Split or Single Limits

The laws of all states express the requirement in terms of split limits. For example, if the chart shows “25/50/10,” the law requires that the policy provide at least $25,000 for bodily injury to each person, $50,000 for all bodily injury, and $10,000 for property damage for each accident.

The insurance laws of some states also state the requirement in terms of a combined single limit. For example, if the chart shows “15/30/10 or 40,” the law provides that a policy with a combined single limit of at least $40,000 will also satisfy the requirement. A combined single limit of $40,000 means that the insurance will pay up to $40,000 for all bodily injury and property damage arising out of each accident.

Required Limits, by State


Alabama (Ala. Code 1975 §32-7-22)

25/50/25 or 75

Alaska (A.S. §28.20.440)

50/100/25 or 125

  
Arizona (A.R.S. §28-4009)

15/30/10 or 40

Arkansas (A.C.A. §27-22-104)

25/50/25

  
California (Cal. Vehicle Code §16056)

15/30/5

Colorado (C.R.S.A. §42-7-103)

25/50/15

Connecticut (C.G.S.A. §14-112)

20/40/10

Delaware (21 Del. C. §2902)

15/30/5

District of Columbia (D.C. ST. §50-1301.49)

25/50/10

Florida (F.S.A. §324.021)

10/20/10 or 30

Georgia (Ga. Code Ann., §33-7-11)

25/50/25

Hawaii (H.R.S. §287-25)

10/20/5

Idaho (I.C. §49-117)

25/50/15

Illinois (625 ILCS 5/1-164.5)

20/40/15

Indiana (IC 9-25-2-3)

25/50/10

Iowa (I.C.A. §321A.1)

20/40/15

Kansas (K.S.A. 40-3107)

25/50/10

Kentucky (KRS §187.290)

25/50/10 or 60

Louisiana (LSA-R.S. 32:872)

10/20/10

Maine (29-A M.R.S.A. §1605)

50/100/25

  
Maryland (MD Code, Transportation, §17-103)

30/60/15

Massachusetts (M.G.L.A. 90 §34A)

20/40/1

Michigan (M.C.L.A. 257.45)

20/40/10

Minnesota (M.S.A. §65B.49)

30/60/10

Mississippi (Miss. Code Ann. §63-15-3)

25/50/25

Missouri (V.A.M.S. 303.020)

25/50/10

Montana (MCA 61-6-103)

25/50/10

Nebraska (Neb. Rev. St. §60-346)

25/50/25

Nevada (N.R.S. 485.185)

15/30/10

  
  
New Hampshire (N.H. Rev. Stat. §264:20)

25/50/25

New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 39:6-25)

15/30/5

New Mexico (N.M.S.A. 66-5-208)

25/50/10 or 60

New York (McKinney's Vehicle and Traffic Law §341)

25/50/10 or 50/100/10 in cases where a death (s) occur

  
North Carolina (N.C.G.S.A. §20-279.1)

30/60/25

North Dakota (NDCC, 39-01-01)

25/50/10

  
  
Ohio (R.C. §4509.01)

12.5/25/7.5

Oklahoma (47 Okl. St. Ann. §7-103)

10/20/10

  
Oregon (O.R.S. §806.070)

25/50/20

Pennsylvania (75 Pa. C.S.A. § 1702)

15/30/5

  
Puerto Rico

No F.R. Requirement

  
Rhode Island (Gen.Laws 1956, § 31-32-2)

25/50/25 or 75

  
South Carolina (Code 1976 § 38-77-140)

25/50/25

South Dakota (SDCL § 32-35-2)

25/50/25

Tennessee (T.C.A. § 55-12-102)

25/50/15 or 60

Texas (V.T.C.A., Transportation Code § 601.072)

30/60/25

Utah (U.C.A. 1953 § 31A-22-304)

25/65/15 or 80

Vermont (23 V.S.A. § 800)

25/50/10 or 115

Virginia (VA Code Ann. § 46.2-472)

25/50/20

Washington (West's RCWA 46.29.090)

25/50/10

West Virginia (W. Va. Code, § 17D-4-2)

20/40/10

Wisconsin (W.S.A. 344.01)

50/100/15

Wyoming (W.S.1977 § 31-9-405)

25/50/20